Pincode Explained

Pin Code

PINCODE Postal Index Number (PIN) or PIN Code is a 6 digit code of Post Office numbering used by India Post. The PIN was introduced on August 15, 1972. There are 9 PIN regions in the country. The first 8 are geographical regions and the digit 9 is reserved for the Army Postal Service. The first digit indicates one of the regions. The first 2 digits together indicate the sub region or one of the postal circles. The first 3 digits together indicate a sorting / revenue district. The last 3 digits refer to the delivery Post Office.

The first digit of PIN indicates as below Region and States:
First Digit Region State Covered
1 Northern Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir
2 Northern Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
3 Western Rajasthan and Gujarat
4 Western Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh
5 Southern Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka
6 Western Kerala and Tamil Nadu
7 Eastern West Bengal, Oissa and North Eastern
8 Eastern Bihar and Jharkhand
9 APS Army Postal Service

The first Two digit of PINCODE indicates as below Region and States:
First 2 Digit of Pincode Region Circle / state Covered
11 Northern Delhi
12 and 13 Northern Haryana
14 to 16 Northern Punjab
17 Northern Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 Northern Jammu & Kashmir
20 to 28 Northern Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
30 to 34 Western Rajasthan
36 to 39 Western Gujarat
40 to 44 Western Maharashtra
45 to 49 Western Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh
50 to 53 Southern Andhra Pradesh
56 to 59 Southern Karnataka
60 to 64 Southern Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 Southern Kerala
70 to 74 Eastern West Bengal
75 to 77 Eastern Odisha
78 Eastern Assam
79 Eastern North Eastern
80 to 85 Eastern Bihar and Jharkhand
90 to 99 All over India Army Postal Service (APS)